The Iron Man House Is Not Real


So, when I did my usual browsing of The Chive this morning, I saw this post claiming that the house from Iron Man was for sale for a cool $25 million. I was pretty excited, thinking that I would be able to write a quick post similar to my write-up on the Ben-Rose house from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. Not to mention the fact that I would be able to post another picture of Scarlett Johansson in the black cat suit.

However, after a little more research, this turns out to be a hoax. There is no MLS listing on the home because it does not exist. Go ahead and take a look herehere, and here. The home was created with CGI and 3D modeling and placed on Point Dume. Jon Favreau, the director of the film even said “It’s sort of like the best spot and nobody is allowed to build there, so we put a digital house there.

So, in memoriam, I’ll write a quick post this afternoon similar to my Super Hero Homes articles using the CGI images. Looking back, I regret that I wrote the article on Stark Tower instead of the fictitious Point Dume home. My goal at the time was keeping the comic book extremists (read “geeks”) happy. To hold you over, I humbly submit a picture of Scarlett Johansson in the movie poster from Iron Man 2. That is something everyone can agree on.

 

CORRECTION: The house really does exist, but it is in San Diego and costs about $39 million. You can see a video walk through here. The house is not exactly the same as the one in the movies, but you can at least see the inspiration. It doesn’t have the same appeal as the cliffs of Point Dume, but I could still see myself living there for a while.

What did I do Right Wrong?

