Art For Guys: Introduction


Lets all face facts for a moment, we are not all art snobs. Some of us look at Warhol and Pollack as being pretentious bastards for calling paint splatters and a Cambell’s soup can art. We  are out of our element in most art galleries. Men do however have the Gelett Burgess mind set.

“I don’t know Art but I know what I like.”

So when it comes to art, men aren’t usually the type to pick up a portrait of a serene cottage in a flowery meadow or a oil painting of a bowl of fruit. Men want something different. We want something that shows that we aren’t really into “soft” or “delicate”. We want a piece of art that either accomplishes something or at least shows strength and masculinity, or highlights either our passions or sense of humor.

So with these things in mind I’m going to start another set of Theme Articles about Guy Art. I have eight topics in mind SO FAR, but will hopefully be able to eventually find 10 different topics. I plan to release one every Friday until I run out of ideas or simply feel like posting them earlier. I can be temperamental that way. It comes with the whole “Barbarian” thing.

Hopefully these will give you a hard set of ideas so you know what you are looking for when your girlfriend tries to bring home a “KEEP CALM AND CARRY ON” poster or “LIVE, LAUGH, LOVE” picture frames that you see in every third female-designed-domicile now. This will give you ammunition so you don’t simply say “I hate that.”, you can say “I hate that, lets get this instead

I’ll release the first post around mid-day tomorrow when I feel like waking up from my inevitable hangover(Good Friday means I can engage in real high quality heathen behavior on a Thursday night). I will always telegraph the next post in this article and at the bottom of each post so you can wait patiently at the edge of your seat in what is most likely a very sarcastic manner.

One comment on “Art For Guys: Introduction

  1. Noah Wolever says:

    I precisely had to thank you very much again. I am not sure what I would have created without the ways revealed by you about such a area. It previously was a very horrifying concern in my position, nevertheless discovering the very professional approach you processed the issue forced me to weep over gladness. I am just grateful for the guidance and even hope you recognize what a great job you happen to be carrying out educating the rest all through a blog. Most probably you have never come across all of us.

What did I do Right Wrong?

