Art for Guys: Advertisments


We all have products that we swear by and advertisements that have created a lasting memory in out minds. These products have become a staple in our lives, and sometimes we may want to show others that a certain brand or product is one that we have strong feelings about. We have all seen the Apple Fanatics out there, and I am sure I am not the only one who wants to run over the Geiko Gecko (Let’s see how good HIS insurance coverage is when he is under a set of Firestones). But for this article, I am going to try and focus on the ads that we feel positively about, and not about how annoyed I am by the office workers from esurance. Those commercials give me a case of the Mondays.

When I think about posting ads on the wall, I am instantly transported to my college days and my favorite sports bars. These are the places where you are most likely to see ads on the walls, because they are free to the bar owners and I could always ask the liquor store owners if they were getting rid of any posters soon. Effectively we had a ton of St. Paddy’s Day Guinness posters coming in every April when the owners got sick of them.

Now that you are all grown up, you may want to resist cutting up the boxes of 30 packs and tacking them to the wall. Faking a little sophistication goes a long way. Find a decent liquor or craft beer you really like and find a great ad. I prefer keeping it vintage wherever possible to get a Mad Men type of feel (Notice the Jameson’s, which is prominent on the show). Take a look at http://store.vintagepaperads.com/servlet/StoreFront to find a few if you are interested. This site sells vintage print ads which you can frame on your own. Feel free to experiment.

It is hard not to love car ads either. I am sure you are not surprised to see that I am a fan of the classics, particularly muscle cars. I know that this is not everybody’s thing however. If you love your own car, whether it is a 1968 Mustang Convertible, a 2011 Jetta or a Delorean. (If it wasn’t for Back to the Future, we would hate you). Men have always loved cars, and if you can show off the way your favorite car looks in its prime, why not. I always liked framing these and putting them in the garage or basement, but if you want to bring them into your living room or office, feel free. You may want to avoid ads with a lot of “copy” down at the bottom unless there are a lot of statistics about the car in it (Horsepower, Engine size, torque, etc).

There are tons of other advertisements to consider. I would love to be able to give you a list of 100 of so that will instantly make the world bow at your feet, but that isn’t going to happen. Open a magazine and look around. We all have brands that we will not compromise on. Whether it is what cigarette you smoke, cameras you buy, tools we use, jeans you wear or soda you drink. Look through your cabinets and find brands that you love. This can be old cigarette ads (The Marlboro Man and “It’s Toasted” are some of my favorites), soda (Coca Cola ads are become particularly iconic, but can seem childish at times), or watch brands. I threw a collection of some of my favorites from the aforementioned Vintage Paper Ads.com.

What did I do Right Wrong?

